Trimester Dates

  • New Trimester dates for session 2016/17

    Trimester 1
    Mon 5 Sept 2016 Sat 17 Dec 2016
    Inter-trimester break:
    Mon 19 Dec 2016 - Tues 3 Jan 2017

    Trimester 2
    Wed 4 Jan 2017 - Sat 22 April 2017
    Inter-trimester break:
    Mon 24 April 2017 - Sat 6 May 2017

    Trimester 3

    Mon 8 May 2017 - Sat 19 Aug 2017
    Inter-trimester break:
    Mon 21 Aug 2017 - Sat 2 Sept 2017 

    Additional holidays

    Spring Holidays Dates
    Spring break for students (one week):
    Mon 3 April 2017 - Sat 8 April 2017

    Good Friday
    Fri 14 April 2017

     

  • The University’s Senate has recently approved changes to the structure of the University’s academic year. This will be introduced from September 2016 onwards.

    These changes have been proposed in order to help enhance your learning experience by providing a flexible teaching, learning and assessment framework and means that your programme team has flexibility to deliver teaching during the trimester to best meet the needs of you, the learner. The new structure also makes it quicker to undertake assessment resits. 

    From 2016/17 formal centrally timetabled exams (where they are part of the programmes assessment strategy) will be scheduled in weeks 7 and 15 of each trimester.

    The new academic year structure (summarised opposite) recognises three trimesters of equal length (15 weeks); of course, not all students will be studying over three trimesters. The official student holiday periods are: three inter-trimester breaks (each being two weeks’ long) plus an additional, one week long, Spring Break towards the end of Trimester 2.

    • 2015/16
      +-
      TRIMESTER DATES - SESSION 2015/2016
      TR2 Welcome and Registration Monday 25 – Friday 29 January 2016
      TR2 Teaching Commences Monday 1 February 2016
      Public Holiday - Easter Monday 28 March 2016
      Easter Vacation commences Monday 4 April 2016
      TR2 Teaching Re-commences Monday 11 April 2016
      Public Holiday - May Day Monday 2 May 2016
      TR2 Consolidation Week commences Tuesday 3 May 2016
      May Assessment Diet Saturday 7 May – Saturday 21 May 2016
      End of TR2 Saturday 21 May 2016
      Inter Trimester Break Monday 23 May – Friday 27 May 2016
      TR3 Welcome and Registration Monday 23 May – Friday 27 May 2016
      TR3 Teaching commences Monday 31 May 2016
      TR3 Consolidation Week commences Monday 25 July 2016
      August Assessment Diet Saturday 30 July – Saturday 13 August
      End of TR3 Saturday 13 August 2016
    • 2016/17
      +-
      TRIMESTER DATES - SESSION 2016/2017
      Trimester (TR) 1 commences Monday 5 September 2016
      Formal Examination opportunity Monday 17 – Saturday 22 October 2016
      *Formal Examination Opportunity Monday 5 – Saturday 10 December 2016
      End of TR1 Saturday 17 December 2016
      Christmas Vacation commences Monday 19 December 2016
      University Holiday Friday 23 December 2016
      Public Holiday Monday 26 December 2016
      Public Holiday Tuesday 27 December 2016
      University Holiday Wednesday 28 December 2016
      University Holiday Thursday 29 December 2016
      University Holiday Friday 30 December 2016
      Public Holiday Monday 2 January 2017
      Public Holiday Tuesday 3 January 2017
      University Reopens Wednesday 4 January 2017
      TR2 commences Wednesday 4 January 2017
      Formal Examination Opportunity Monday 13 – Saturday 18 February 2017
      Easter Vacation Monday 3 – Saturday 8 April 2017
      *Formal Examination Opportunity Monday 10 – Saturday 15 April 2017
      Public Holiday – Good Friday Friday 14 April 2017 
      Public Holiday – Easter Monday Monday 17 April 2017
      TR2 ends Saturday 22 April 2017
      Vacation Monday 24 – Saturday 29 April 2017
      Public Holiday – May Day Monday 1 May 2017
      Vacation Tuesday 2 – Saturday 6 May 2017
      TR3 commences Monday 8 May 2017
      Formal Examination Opportunity Monday 19 – Saturday 24 June 2017
      *Formal Examination Opportunity Monday 7 – Saturday 12 August 2017
      End of TR3 Saturday 19 August 2017
      Vacation Monday 21 –Saturday 26 August 2017
      Vacation Monday 28 Aug – Sat 2 September 2017
      Trimester (TR) 1 commences Monday 4 September 2017
  • *Updated April 2016 following consultation with Academic Schools and Senate to confirm that the examination opportunities at the end of each trimester will now be week 15.

    NB: Some programmes run outwith the designated trimester dates. It is the responsibility of students to check the dates of their programme.

    [back to top]