Search the site


Find a course

A-Z Undergraduate courses A-Z Postgraduate courses

Recently viewed



The University Senate is constituted to discharge the functions of the University Court relating to the overall planning, co-ordination, development and supervision of the academic work of the University. It has particular responsibility under the University Constitution for the granting of degrees, diplomas, certificates and other awards. The Principal and Vice-Chancellor is the Chair of the Senate.

The Senate is assisted in the discharge of its duties by a number of sub committees, which are detailed within the UWS Committee Framework.

The Senate meets four times a year. Dates and locations for the 2017/18 session:

  • 2nd October 2017 – Paisley Campus
  • 17th January 2018 – Paisley Campus
  • 22nd March 2018 – Ayr Campus
  • 6th June 2018 – Hamilton Campus

The Senate Office provides professional officer support and administration for the Senate, the constitutions of the University committees and the Regulatory Framework for the maintenance of quality and standards of courses of study leading to the University’s academic awards and other distinctions.

Download the UWS Committee Framework (PDF)

Any queries in relation to the Senate should be directed to:

Donna McMillan, Secretary to Senate,, 0141 848 3677

Elizabeth Marshall, Assistant Secretary to Senate,, 0141 848 3713

Lesley Lloyd, Court & Senate Office Co-ordinator,, 0141 848 3678

Last updated: 01/08/2017