Skip course menu sidebar
Close

Find a course

A-Z Undergraduate courses A-Z Postgraduate courses

Recently viewed

OVERVIEW

The Division of Social Sciences comprises academics undertaking empirical and theoretical research through the perspective of a wide range of disciplines – sociology, political science, policy studies, criminology, and career guidance. This research is often interdisciplinary and thus makes use of the strength of the divisional diversity.

Based within the School of Education & Social Sciences, the academic staff employ their research expertise in teaching at the undergraduate and the postgraduate levels.

The Division’s academic staff have a wide range of working relationships with organisations from the private, public and voluntary sectors. The longstanding UWS-Oxfam Partnership is one example for such cooperation.

Divisional staff support a lively research student community, engaged in a wide range of research themes.

 

Should you wish to learn more about the Division of Social Sciences, please contact the Head of Division:

Dr Claire Harkins
Head of Division and Lecturer in Political Sociology
Email: claire.harkins@uws.ac.uk
Tel: (0044) 0141 848 3613

Key Contacts

Members

Kirstin Anderson
Lecturer in Criminology and Criminal Justice
Email: kirstin.anderson@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Kirstin's research and teaching expertise here >

Margaret Arnott                
Professor of Public Policy
Email: margaret.arnott@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Margaret's research and teaching expertise here >​

Colin Atkinson    
Lecturer in Criminology and Criminal Justice
Email: colin.atkinson@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Colin's research and teaching expertise here >

Emma Bolger      
Lecturer in Careers Guidance
Email: emma.bolger@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Emma's research and teaching expertise here >

Carlton Brick       
Lecturer in Sociology
Email: carlton.brick@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Carlton's research and teaching expertise here >

Ross Campbell  
Senior Lecturer in Political Science
Email: ross.campbell@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Ross' research and teaching expertise here >

Colin Clark          
Professor of Sociology and Social Policy
Email: colin.clark@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Colin's research and teaching expertise here >

Julie Clark           
Senior Lecturer Sociology and Social Policy
Email: julie.clark@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Julie's research and teaching expertise here >

John Connolly            
Professor in Public Policy
Email: john.connolly@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about John's research and teaching expertise here >

Ross Deuchar    
Professor of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Email: ross.deuchar@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Ross' research and teaching expertise here >

Liz Frondigoun     
Senior Lecturer in Criminology and Criminal Justice
Email: liz.frondigoun@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Liz's research and teaching expertise here >

Chris Gilligan     
Senior Lecturer in Sociology
Email: chris.gilligan@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Chris' research and teaching expertise here >​

Darryl Gunson  
Senior Lecturer in Philosophy and Sociology
Email: darryl.gunson@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Darryl's research and teaching expertise here >

Claire Harkins
Head of Division and Lecturer in Political Sociology
Email: claire.harkins@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Claire's research and teaching expertise here >

Gordon Heggie 
Senior Lecturer in Political Science
Email: gordon.heggie@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Gordon's research and teaching expertise here >

Heather Horsburgh        
Lecturer in Criminology and Criminal Justice
Email: heather.horsburgh@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Heather's research and teaching expertise here >

Nick Jenkins      
Senior Lecturer Sociology and Social Policy
Email: nick.jenkins@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Nick's research and teaching expertise here >

Sharon Lambley
Lecturer in Public Sector Leadership and Management
Email: sharon.lambley@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Sharon's research and teaching expertise here >

Murray Leith     
Reader in Political Science
Email: murray.leith@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Murray's research and teaching expertise here >

Linda Mackay      
Lecturer in Social Policy
Email: linda.mackay@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Linda's research and teaching expertise here >

Chloe MacLean
Lecturer in Sociology
Email: chloe.maclean@uws.ac.uk

Robert McLean
Lecturer in Criminology and Criminal Justice
Email: robert.mclean@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Robert's research and teaching expertise here >​

Craig McAngus                 
Lecturer in Politics and Policy
Email: craig.mcangus@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Craig's research and teaching expertise here >

Marjorie McCrory           
Lecturer in Careers Guidance
Email: marjorie.mccrory@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Marjorie's research and teaching expertise here >

Mark McNally                   
Lecturer in Political Science
Email: mark.mcnally@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Mark's research and teaching expertise here >

Johanne Miller 
Lecturer in Criminology and Criminal Justice
Email: johanne.miller@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Johanne's research and teaching expertise here >

Allan Moore      
Lecturer in Criminology and Criminal Justice
Email: allan.moore@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Allan's research and teaching expertise here >

Carolijn van Noort          
Lecturer in Public Policy and Politics
Email: carolijn.vannoort@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Carolijn's research and teaching expertise here >

Geraldine O’Donnell      
Lecturer in Criminology and Criminal Justice
Email: geraldine.odonnell@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Geraldine's research and teaching expertise here >

Hartwig Pautz   
Lecturer in Social Sciences
Email: hartwig.pautz@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Hartwig's research and teaching expertise here >​​

Emilia Pietka-Nykaza     
Senior Lecturer in Sociology and Social Policy
Email: emilia.pietka-nykaza@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Emilia's research and teaching expertise here >

Lynne Poole      
Lecturer in Social Policy
Email: lynne.poole@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Lynne's research and teaching expertise here >

Michael Pugh                    
Lecturer in Political History
Email: michael.pugh@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Michael's research and teaching expertise here >

Irene Rafanell   
Lecturer in Sociology
Email: irene.rafanell@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Irene's research and teaching expertise here >

Gareth Rice                        
Lecturer in Sociology and Social Policy
Email: gareth.rice@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Gareth's research and teaching expertise here >

Maria Sapouna 
Senior Lecturer in Criminology and Criminal Justice
Email: maria.sapouna@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Maria's research and teaching expertise here >

Duncan Sim                       
Honorary Research Fellow
Email: duncan.sim@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Duncan's research and teaching expertise here >​

Arno van der Zwet          
Lecturer in Political Science
Email: arno.van-der-zwet@uws.ac.uk
Find out more about Arno's research and teaching expertise here >​​

Last updated: 17/12/2019