Dementia Champions in Scotland

  • Three films celebrating the work of Scotland’s national Dementia Champions

  • Scotland’s National Dementia Champions Programme

    The University of the West of Scotland has delivered Scotland’s National Dementia Champions multi-disciplinary programme since its inception in 2011. The programme, funded by the Scottish Government is run in partnership with NHS Education for Scotland (NES)/ Scottish Social Services Council and Alzheimer Scotland. 2017 will see the start of the eighth cohort.

    Dementia Champs

    The aim of the programme is to support the development of champions as change agents in improving the experience, care, treatment and outcomes for people with dementia, their families and carers in general hospitals and at the interface between hospital and community settings.

    The programme provides a range of blended learning opportunities, work based learning and leadership development. The programme has positively evaluated both internally and independently.

    Scotland now has over 700 Dementia Champions who are: nurses, occupational therapists, social workers, care managers, unit managers, team leaders, service co-ordinators, practice development/education facilitators and care homes managers, charge nurses, Scottish ambulance service practitioners, physiotherapists, speech & language therapists, podiatrists, radiographers, dentists, palliative care specialists and rehabilitation practitioners.

  • The Education Team

    The education team is drawn from a range of practitioners, academics and students working at University of the West of Scotland, Alzheimer Scotland, NHS Scotland and Scottish Social Services Council. Student nurses at UWS view participation in the education team as integral to their learning and development at UWS and have become key members of the team.

    Sharing Experiences as Dementia champions: